How To Archive In Outlook 365, 2019, 2016, 2013 & 2010

If you’re using email services other than Outlook, you have to be aware that there is a limit in the number of emails that can be stored in your account.

If the mailbox fills up, then you won’t be able to receive new emails until you clear out unwanted e-mails from your inbox.

Microsoft Outlook is designed to keep all email in a central folder and saves the emails of your choice that are appearing every other day.

Here in this article, we will walk you through “How-To Archive in Outlook 365, 2019, 2016, 2013 & 2010” from scratch.

What does archive mean in Outlook?

Most of the users are unaware about “What does archive do in Outlook “, before diving into what it’s supposed to do though understanding the whole concept behind archive in Outlook is necessary.

Archiving is a good practice for ensuring a clean email inbox. Archiving only moves unwanted messages to another folder (one that can still be accessed when required) which means that your inbox won’t get clogged up over time, and hopefully you’ll be able to enjoy faster response times too.

Related Article: Outlook Weather Bar

Microsoft Outlook provides users with an Auto-Archive folder and a way to specify when it should occur. The default setting is after 14 days of no access/activity to clear away any clutter that may have otherwise built up in the Inbox.

Here are several locations in the Outlook application where Outlook archive icons and folders can be found. If you’re a beginner, though, you may have no idea where to begin.

This article will serve as a tutorial for organizing your emails in general, so this should hopefully explain things further.

Steps to Auto archive email in Outlook 365 – 2010

The Outlook Auto Archive feature is designed to file away or delete old emails automatically.

How to archive email in Outlook?

Archiving e-mails in Outlook for Mac is a great way to keep your Inbox less cluttered and help you to find the messages you need. I’ll show you how to archive e-mails in Outlook, here are the steps:

Auto-Archive Settings

This is also a great way to make sure that you can find important e-mails the next time you need them. To configure your email preferences, follow these steps.

  • Lunch Microsoft Outlook
  • Click “File Tab” >> Select “Info” from the left-hand portion of the screen.
  • Select “Options” >> Hit “Advanced Tab” from the left >> Click Auto-Archive setting.
  • Auto archive setting dialog box appears it requires few manual adjustments which result in the outcome.autoarchive 2

Auto-Archive allows you to choose how often your mail should automatically archive. By default, it archives every 2 weeks but if for example, you’d like it to happen every 3 weeks instead, all you need to do is slide the number of days left until auto-archive forward by one and the time will be synched with your preference.

Finally, click OK to run, and the Auto-Arch function will begin to do its work. The Archives folder will appear in your Outlook automatically, so long as you select Show Archive Folder in the Folders list from Outlook’ s View menu.

In case you have turned on Exchange account archive folders.

Outlook Auto Archive settings and options [Explanation]

  • Set Auto-Archive settings to automatically run every N days: If you want Auto-Archive to automatically run on a set schedule, you can choose when it runs by setting up the time frame for Auto-Archive to run as automatic. You can enter any day/time interval format that you like, such as: “once a day at 3pm”.
  • Outlook is designed to run the archive automatically with no user input, but if you want to make absolutely sure that Auto-Archive doesn’t start running before you can react, you can choose to receive a prompt. In this case, if you don’t like what Outlook planned for tomorrow’s archive, you can click No in the warning box and prevent it from happening. outlook-autoarchive-cancellation 3
  • Delete expired items (e-mail only). Selecting this option deletes all expired messages from your email account, including spam and trash folders.
  • Make sure it’s not critical before you archive or delete items. If unchecked, Outlook will use the default Auto-Archive settings.
  • Archive Folder: This creates an archive folder in addition to the usual organization folder, allowing you to access both at once.
  • Clean out items older than one month. You can select how many days after which your Outlook automatically archives items for you. You can specify a number of months up to six years maximum.
  • Move old items to this folder. By default, Outlook archive files and save to a specific location C:\Users\<user_name>\Documents\Outlook Files\archive.pst — instead of deleting them (selecting this radio button clears the selection of Permanently delete items). You can change the location by clicking on the browse button.
  • Permanently Delete Items. This option deletes old items permanently as soon as they reach the end of the aging period.

Difference Between Archive and Delete

Most of the people nowadays have trouble distinguishing between archiving their emails and deleting them. People are often left wondering whether they should archive or trash their messages, but in the end, many still wind up deleting.

Outlook Archive vs Delete

One main difference is that archive designed to move email messages older than a specific time period from inbox to another folder with an archive extension. In case of delete user has to select the individual email message and send it to the trash folder before deleting from the inbox.

In some companies, emails that are deleted are purged from the server after a short period of time (usually 30 days), however, you may find it beneficial to empty your account’s Deleted Items folder every so often in order to maintain order and save space.

Archive emails stay in the archive folder until they have been customized to be deleted.

One of the drawbacks of Archiving an email rather than simply deleting it is that it doesn’t remove the message from your Inbox folder.

Unknown facts about Outlook Archive

Outlook keeps all your emails, contacts, appointments, tasks and notes together in one file. This is called a .pst (stands for Outlook Personal Storage) file and it is kept in the My Documents folder on your computer.

As soon as an old item is moved from the main .pst file into an archive.pst file, it is displayed in the Outlook Archive folder and is no longer available in the original folders; meaning if you want to open something from an .pst file again you will have to look for it in its archived location.

Archiving is not the same as exporting. Exporting copies of items to an archive file, but they are not removed from the current folder, nor from the original .pst file.

An archive file is not the same as an Outlook backup. You can create additional copies of your archive.pst file by storing them in a safe location instead of having Outlook perform backups for you.

Contacts never auto-archive in any Microsoft Outlook version. However, it is possible to archive the Contacts folder manually in Outlook 2010 and 2013.

If you have an archive mailbox, archiving in Outlook is disabled.

How long do archived emails stay in Outlook?

Even if you’ve chosen to archive your email, technically it will still be kept within your inbox although in an unopened folder until you have specifically customized to remove or delete the entire message.

The straight forward answer to this question is, “Yes, but…”